Wednesday, 12 August 2015

The Simon Mabhunu Sabela Awards.

A KZN Film Commission initiative The Simon ‘Mabhunu’ Sabela Awards named after the South African Film and TV 
legend were held at the Durban ICC Arena. The ceremony recognizes outstanding achievement within the SA Film and Film Industry and International Industry with special focus on Kwazulu-Natal talent in particular. The evening was lovely with performances by Dream Team, Naima Kay and DJ Tira. The highlight of the evening happened when Ian Roberts was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award but he wasn’t in attendance. When he was finally located about an hour later, he walked up the stage and said he forgot the Awards were that evening. The hall erupted with laughter. The people of  Kwa-Zulu Natal are quite proud of the body of work they have produced and more will come out from them. 

Terry Pheto looking stunning.

2015 Winners:
 KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission Special Awards:
Trevor Jones
Euzhan Palcy
 Lifetime Achievement Awards:
Ian Roberts
Margaret Msingane
Thembi Mtshali
Kent Gampu
 Lifetime achievement:
Richard Green
Don Mlangeni Dawa
 Best Feature Film - Jaco Smit - Pad na jou Hart
 Best Newcomer Actor in a Leading Role - Khumbulani Sibiya - Uzalo
 Best Newcomer Actress in Leading Role - Thishiwe Ziqhubu - Hard To Get
 Best Supporting Actor - Khaya Dladla - Uzalo
 Best Supporting Actress - Sihle Ndaba - Uzalo
 Best Director - Luthando - Boni Sithebe
 Best Actor - Mpumelelo Bhulose - Uzalo
 Best Actress - Jessica Nkosi - Isibaya
 Best Use of KZN location - White Gold - African Lotus Productions
 Best Micro-budget Film - Break In Transmission
 Best Documentary - The Story of Inanda Seminary
 Best Student Film - The Halfway House
 Best IsisZulu Film - Indoda Ayikhali

1 comment:

  1. Nice Nthabi, what category is the main awards and who won?